Kazaii's Nook

Welcome Home

We moved into the new apartment over the weekend. The lead up to the move was stressful, but the movers really put me at ease.

The first sleep here was like a breath of fresh air after nearly drowning. The dog & the cat are both satisfied with the climate controlled space, rather than their seasonal hibernation (the dog likes a cold apartment, the cat prefers a warm one).

I'm on day three of working from home and I'm loving it so much more. There is a free automated espresso machine in the lobby, so I have an opportunity to step away and chat with new neighbours - in my slippers, I'll add - rather than making the trek to a coffee shop.

I've setup my desk much cleaner & nicer, rather than the mess it's become over the past few years; This allows me to use the standing desk function again. I'm also appreciative that I have a very large window space, providing natural light, throughout my work day. I find myself standing at the window while I think through my daily process.

Every morning I walk the dog I see an amazing doggy meetup at the nearby park. Izzy is a bit shy to run in and join them, but she's enjoying all the stimulating smells in the new neighbourhood.

The final thing I'll add is that there is a very fitting neo-dive bar across the street. We had a burger and a beer there to celebrate our anniversary (which was the day before the move). I feel so relieved that there are so many places to just step away from the mundane/annoying elements of my apartment: The lounge, the rooftop, the lobby, the dive bar, the coffee shop across the street, the 4-5 parks nearby. I feel so spoiled and I wish I had this push sooner.

Here's some pics that make me smile:

Izzy and Marble relaxing

Desk progress